2019 World Coffee Championships Schedule, Day One

Welcome to Day One coverage of the 2019 World Barista Championships! We’re coming to you live from the Boston Convention Center in Boston, Massachusetts, where 50+ competitors from around the world have gathered to determine who will be the next World Barista Championship.

This year the WBC is a four day event, with Day One and Day Two given over to the preliminary rounds. World Coffee Events (in its infinite wisdom) has chosen to stack these amazing competitors on top of each other, two at a time, so as to cram in as much competition action as possible in a limited amount of time. Jam along right here at Sprudge Live for coverage all weekend long, and be sure to follow @SprudgeLive on Twitter and @Sprudge on Instagram for coverage all weekend long. Our much-loved Live Tweet coverage of the event will begin once things get a little less crowded on Saturday.

From Azerbaijan to Zambia, let’s meet our Day One World Barista Championship competitors!

All of SprudgeLive’s 2019 competition coverage is made possible by AcaiaBaratzaFaemaCafe ImportsWilbur Curtis, Third Wave Water, Minor Figures, and Mahlkönig.

In 2019 SprudgeLive is home to the Digital Roasters Village, because it takes a village to cover a barista competition. The Digital Roasters Village features Camber Coffee, Verve Coffee, Partners Coffee, Intelligentsia Coffee, Rishi Tea, Kickapoo Coffee, Blue Bottle Coffee, Onyx Coffee Lab, Creation Coffee, Amavida, and Equator Coffees without whom this work would not be possible. 

World Barista Championship, Round One, Day One

9:10am Junior Vargas Otero, Gota Coffee, Austria
9:21am Martha Grill, Octavio Café, Brazil
9:50am Viktor Örn Ellingsson, Kaffitár, Iceland
10:00am Zkenek Hybl, Onesip Coffee, Czech Republic
10:11am Santhosh B, Third Wave Coffee Roasters, India
10:40am Juan Camilo Giraldo, TallerCafe, Chile
10:50am Michalis Dimitrakopoulos, The UnderDog, Greece
11:01am Sam Spillman, Dillanos Coffee Roasters, USA
11:30am Nisan Agca, Independent, Turkey
11:40am Mathew Lewin, ONA Coffee, Australia
11:51am Wendelien Van Bunnik, Single Estate Coffee Roasters, The Netherlands
12:20pm Wojtek Bialczak, Five Elephant Coffee, Germany
12:30pm Harry Mole, TriBeCa Coffee Company, South Africa
12:41pm Adrian Berg, Dromedar, Norway
1:10pm David Solano, 12 Onzas, Guatemala
1:20pm Brian Mubanga, Munali Café, Zambia
1:31pm Slawek Saran, Forum, Poland
2:00pm Tomoko Yamamoto, Unir, Japan
2:10pm Cesar Bermejo, Brew Coffee Company, Panama
2:21pm Matt Winton, Mame, Sweden
2:50pm Jooyeon Jeon, Momos Coffee, South Korea
3:00pm Maryam Abdullayeva, Coffee Bar, Azerbaijan
3:11pm Wojciech Tysler, Bewley’s, Ireland
3:40pm Jonatan Mendoza, Bourbon Coffee Roasters, El Salvador
3:50pm Mathieu Theis, Mame, Switzerland
4:01pm Thai Barista Champion
4:30pm Spitsyn Palvo, Lion Coffee, Ukraine
4:40pm Jonas Gehl, Prolog Coffee, Denmark