Updating The 2015 USBC Leaderboard After Big Eastern


Lemuel Butler and Sam Lewontin have won the Southeast and Northeast divisions in the 2015 United States Barista Championship regional cycle. This affords them an automatic bye into semi-finals at the USBC, and a free trip to Colombia with Cafe Imports.

The USBC format affords two first-round byes per division, awarding that second valuable bye to the second place finisher in each region. With Big Western and Big Central already settled, we now have a complete look at all 36 eligible baristas for the 2015 United States Barista Championship.

Northeast Conference


1. Sam Lewontin, Everyman Espresso, New York City [1st round bye at USBC]

2. Hadassah Wilson, Square One Coffee, Lancaster, PA [1st round bye at USBC]

3. Michael Harwood, Ceremony Coffee, Annapolis, MD

4. Erika Vonie, Everyman Espresso, New York City

5. Sarah Leslie, Gimme! Coffee, New York City

6. Steven Latham, BoxKite NYC, New York City

Southeast Conference


1. Lemuel Butler, Counter Culture Coffee, Durham, NC [1st round bye at USBC]

2. Trevor Corlett, MadCap Coffee Company, Washington, DC [1st round bye at USBC]

3. Anna Utevsky, Joule Coffee, Raleigh, NC

4. Nathan Nerswick, Empire State South, Atlanta

5. Micah Sherer, Tandem Creperie & Coffeehouse, Traveler’s Rest, SC

6. Kyle Ramage, Mahlkonig USA, Durham, NC



1. Ryan Soeder, Intelligentsia Coffee, Chicago, IL [1st round bye at USBC]

2. Matthew Scott, Lemonjello’s Coffee, Holland, MI [1st round bye at USBC]

3. T. Ben Fisher, Stone Creek Coffee Company, Milwaukee, WI

4. Jonathan Miller, Madcap Coffee Company, Grand Rapids, MI

5. Trevor Gruehn, Kickapoo Coffee, Milwaukee, WI

6. Leeann Wacker, Colectivo Coffee, Milwaukee, WI



1. Radames Roldan, Blueprint Coffee, St. Louis, MO [1st round bye at USBC]

2. Andrea Allen, Onyx Coffee Lab, Springdale, AR [1st round bye at USBC]

3. Nora Brady, Blueprint Coffee, St. Louis, MO

4. Andrew Iwersen, Quay Coffee, Kansas City, MO

5. David Fasman, Kaldi’s Coffee, St. Louis, MO

6. Patrick Burns, Palace Coffee Company, Amarillo, TX



1st: Sam Schroeder, Olympia Coffee Roasting Company, Olympia, WA [1st round bye at USBC]

2nd: Brady Macdonald, Olympia Coffee Roasting Company, Olympia, WA [1st round bye at USBC]

3rd: Maxwell Mooney, Spotted Cow Coffee Company, Mill Creek, WA

4th: Brandon Paul Weaver, Slate Coffee, Seattle

5th. Corey Critchfield, Either / Or, PDX

6th. Sam Brandvein, Cherry Street Coffee House, Seattle



1st: Charles Babinski, Go Get Em Tiger and G&B Coffee, Los Angeles [1st round bye at USBC]

2nd: Eden-Marie Abramowicz, Intelligentsia Coffee, Los Angeles [1st round bye at USBC]

3rd: Cole McBride, PublicUs, Las Vegas

4th: Devin Chapman, Verve Coffee Roasters, Los Angeles

5th: Harlin Glovacki, Nom De Plume Roasters, Phoenix

6th: Jon Paul Doerr, Portola Coffee Lab, Costa Mesa, CA

The 2015 US Barista Championship cycle continues on November 21st, 2014 in Durham, North Carolina at the Big Eastern Barista Competition, hosted by Counter Culture Coffee and The Wilbur Curtis Company

All of SprudgeLive’s 2015 USBC and WBC coverage is sponsored by Square, and presented in partnership with the Specialty Coffee Association of America.